## PROF. ARUP KUMAR RAYCHAUDHURI



URL: <a href="http://people.bose.res.in/faculty/fac\_new/arupkumarraychaudhuri.html">http://people.bose.res.in/faculty/fac\_new/arupkumarraychaudhuri.html</a>
Google: <a href="https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=n0lJv9oAAAAJ&hl=en">https://scholar.google.co.in/citations?user=n0lJv9oAAAAJ&hl=en</a>

## **Personal Information:**

Distinguished Professor Emeritus and J. C. Bose Fellow (SERB)

#### Formerly

Director and Distinguished Professor, S.N.Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Kolkata Director, National Physical Laboratory (CSIR), New Delhi Professor, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

#### **Postal address:**

S.N.Bose National Center for Basic Sciences

Postal Address: JD Block, Sector III, Salt Lake, Kolkata 700 106

e mail: arup at bose.res.in

Phone: 033-2335-5706/07/08 Extn 208 (office), 467 (Lab), Fax: 033-2335-3477

# **Academic Qualification:**

Degree	Year	Institute/University	Class/rank
B.Sc	1973	M.S.University, Baroda, India	1st in 1st.Class
M.Sc	1975	Indian Inst. of Tech., Kanpur, India	1st in 1st Class
Ph.D	1980	Cornell University, Ithaca, USA	

Thesis topic: "Search for the origin of the low temperature anomalies in glasses"

## Professional experience and positions held

Year	Position	University/Institute
1980-82	von Humboldt Fellow	Max Planck Institute Stuttgart, Germany
1982-1986	Lecturer	Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
1986-1991	Assistant Professor	-do-
1991-1997	Associate Professor	-do-
1997-1997	Professor	-do-
1997-2000	Director	National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi.
2000-2004	Professor	Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
2004-2006	Senior Professor	S.N.Bose National Center for Basic
		Sciences, Kolkata
2006-2013	Director and Senior Professor	-do-
2013-2014	Director and Distinguished Professor	-do-
2014-till date	Distinguished Professor-Emeritus	

<u>Visiting Faculty Positions:</u> Cornell University, Ithaca, USA, Univ. of Maryland, College Park, USA, Univ. of Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, Germany.

# **Important Fellowships and Awards:**

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation fellowship (1980), N.S.Satyamurthy Award (IPA) (1986), Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (1993), Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in Physical Sciences (1994), Millennium Medal of the Indian Science Congress (2000), Fellow, Indian National Science Academy (2000), Fellow, Asia-Pacific Academy of Materials (2000), ICS Gold Medal of the Materials Research Society of India (2002), FICCI Award in materials science and applied science

(2003), Meghnad Saha Medal (Asiatic Society of India) (2004), J.C. Bose Fellowship (2006), Homi Bhaba Medal (INSA) (2008), National Research Award in Nanoscience and Technology

## **Students guided (for Ph.D degree)**

Ph.D thesis submitted and degree obtained till date - 35, Currently registered - 6

(Nanomission) (2012), Distinguished Materials Scientist of the Year (MRSI) (2015)

## **Publications**

Refereed Journal (till May 2017)- about 277., Important reviews 10

## **Membership of professional bodies**

(a) Elected international commissions

Commission on Low temperature physics (C 5) International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP) Till 2003

- (b) Member: American Physical Society, Materials Research Society (MRS, USA),
- (c)Life Member: Indian Physics Association, Materials Research Society of India, Indian Association of Physics Teachers.

## Membership of important boards and councils

Member Board of Governors IISER, Pune (2006-2009), Member Board of Governor IIT, Kanpur (2011-2014), Council Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (1998-2000), Council Indian National Science Academy o, New Delhi (2014), Member Science and Engineering Research Board (2014-till date). Member and Convenor – Sectional committee-VI,INSA (2015-2017)